Faculty, Staff Honored at PCOM South Georgia Awards Ceremony
Skip to main content

Faculty, Staff Honored at PCOM South Georgia Awards Ceremony

June 3, 2024
Marla Golden, DO ’88, presents the Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award to Randall Sisam, DO
Marla Golden, DO ’88, and Randall Sisam, DO

Faculty and staff joined graduates in receiving awards during PCOM South Georgia’s 2024 awards ceremony held May 15 at the University of Georgia Conference Center in Tifton.

Savita Arya, MD, professor of pathology, received the Outstanding Faculty Award, which is awarded to the basic medical science faculty member who has exemplified exceptional dedication and superior performance in teaching.

Randall Sisam, DO, assistant professor of clinical medicine and director of primary care skills, accepted the Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award, which is awarded to the clinical faculty member who has exemplified exceptional support and superior performance in teaching patient and family centered care.

Gino Alberto, DO '83, MPH, assistant professor of emergency medicine, received the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award, which is presented to the adjunct faculty member who exemplified excellence in teaching and contributed to the training of PCOM South Georgia students.

Christin Zipperer, LPC, NCC, Personal Support Counselor, received the Outstanding Staff Award. This honor is given to the staff member who demonstrated above and beyond achievements in their respective duties.

Marla Golden, DO ’88, presents the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award to Gino Alberto, DO '83, MPH
Marla Golden, DO ’88, and Gino Alberto, DO '83, MPH

The Outstanding Preceptor Award recognizes the exceptional contributions and accomplishments of an individual who has demonstrated exemplary dedication and excellence in the role of a preceptor within the field of healthcare education. Preceptors are practicing physicians who are integral to the clinical education and training of medical students. They provide the experiential portion of the curriculum by supervising student physicians as they acquire clinical medical knowledge by helping to care for real patients—in both the inpatient and outpatient settings. Outstanding Preceptor of the Year Award recipients for 2023-2024 were:

  • Dhru Girard, MD, cardiothoracic surgery, Rome, Georgia
  • Bridgett Asbury, MD, obstetrics & gynecology, Tifton, Georgia
  • Michael Bianco, DO, internal medicine, Alpharetta, Georgia
  • Nicole Hardeman, DO, family medicine, Chatsworth, Georgia
  • David Quang, DO, obstetrics & gynecology, Warner Robins, Georgia
  • Rebecca Gill, MD, general surgery, New Smryna Beach, Florida
  • James Joyner, MD, pediatrics, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Anthony Johnson, MD, family medicine, Valdosta, Georgia
  • Gerty Jean-Louis, MD, family medicine, Columbus, Georgia
  • Tiffany Delice, MD, psychiatry, Valdosta, Georgia
  • Alexandra Townes, MD, pediatrics, Dalton, Georgia
  • Jacqueline McLatchy, MD, obstetrics & gynecology, Americus, Georgia

You May Also Like:

About PCOM South Georgia

In 2019, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM), a premier osteopathic medical school with a storied 125-year history, extended its commitment to the Southeast by establishing PCOM South Georgia. An additional teaching location in Moultrie, Georgia, PCOM South Georgia offers both a full, four-year medical program leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree and a Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences. PCOM is a private, not-for-profit institution that trains professionals in the health and behavioral sciences fields. Joining PCOM Georgia in Suwanee in helping to meet the healthcare needs of the state, PCOM South Georgia focuses on educating physicians for the region. For more information, visit pcom.edu or call 229-668-3110.

Contact Us

Cindy B. Montgomery
Public Relations and Social Media Manager
Email: cindymo@pcom.edu
Office: 229-668-3198 | Cell: 229-873-2003

Connect with PCOM South Georgia