Kudos January 2019: PCOM Faculty and Student Accolades
Skip to main content

January 2019

February 6, 2019

The monthly editions of Kudos celebrate faculty, staff and student publications and accolades at PCOM, PCOM Georgia and PCOM South Georgia.

Arash Bahrami, DO, resident, otolaryngology, co-authored “Preoperative Radiation and Complication Rates After Double Free Flap Reconstruction of Head and Neck Cancer,” which published in the American Journal of Otolaryngology.

Marissa Evarts, DO, resident, otolaryngology; Matthew Brennan, DO, resident, otolaryngology; and Jason E. Cohn, DO, resident, otolaryngology, co-authored “Caregiver Perception of Speech Quality in Patients with Ankyloglossia: Comparison Between Surgery and Non-Treatment,” which published in the International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology.

Dr. Cohn was also first author on, “Complete Resolution of Guttate Psoriasis After Tonsillectomy,” which published in the journal Ear, Nose, & Throat Journal, and “Perceiving Attractiveness and the Increasing Diversity in Facial Plastic Surgery,” which published in the journal JAMA Facial Plastic Surgery. In addition, he co-authored “Video Education on Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer (HBOC) for Physicians: an Interventional Study,” which published in the Journal of Cancer Education.

Yun Bai, PharmD, associate professor, pharmaceutical sciences, co-authored “Differential Expression of Cyclosporine A-Induced Calcineurin Isoform-Specific Matrix Metalloproteinase 9 (MMP-9) in Renal Fibroblasts,” which published in the journal Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications.

Jacquelyn Gerhart, MS, director, bioimaging facility and coordinator, Philadelphia research support staff; Colleen Withers (DO ’20); Victoria Scheinfeld, MS ’05; Arturo Bravo-Nuevo, PhD, associate professor, neuroscience and Mindy George-Weinstein, PhD, chief research and science officer, co-authored “Myo/Nog Cells Are Present in the Ciliary Processes, on the Zonule of Zinn and Posterior Capsule of the Lens Following Cataract Surgery,” which published in the journal Experimental Eye Research.

Dr. Bravo-Nuevo was also co-author on “Deletion of GLUT1 in Mouse Lens Epithelium Leads to Cataract Formation,” in the journal Experimental Eye Research.

Dr. George-Weinstein also co-authored “Acquired Resilience: An Evolved System of Tissue Protection in Mammals,” which published in the journal Dose Response.

Andrew Greenspon (DO ’19) was first author on “Extralobar Sequestration Complicated by a Cystic Hamartoma in an Adult,” in the journal The Annals of Thoracic Surgery.

Abhi Jain (DO ’19) was first author on “A Case of Post Angiography Subdural Collection Contract Enhancement: Time Course of Attenuation Reduction,” in the journal Radiology Case Reports.

Robert Kowtoniuk (DO ’19) was first author on “DRESS Syndrome-Associated Acute Necrotizing Eosinophilic Myocarditis with Giant Cells,” which published in the journal BMJ Case Reports.

Michelle Lent, PhD, associate professor, clinical psychology, co-authored “Interpersonal Abuse and Long-Term Outcomes Following Bariatric Surgery,” which published in the journal Obesity Surgery.

Hua Ling, PharmD, assistant professor, pharmacy; Jiehyun Le, PharmD, assistant professor, pharmacy; Michael Cooley (PharmD ’19); Ricky Ayoung-Chee (PharmD ’19) and James Hernandez (PharmD ’19) co-authored “Effect of Ezetimibe Added to High-Intensity Statin Therapy in Patients with Hypercholesterolemia: A Meta-Analysis,” which published in the journal Circulation: Cardiovascular Quality and Outcomes.

Minisha Lohani (DO ’19) co-authored “Patient Perspectives on Compensation for Biospecimen Donation,” in the journal AJOB Empirical Bodies.

Rex Lutz (DO ’21) co-authored “When Does the Knee Feel Normal Again: A Cross-Sectional Study Assessing the Forgotten Joint Score in Patients After Total Knee Arthroplasty,” which published in The Journal of Arthroplasty.

Shirin Madzhidova, PharmD, assistant professor, pharmacy, was first author on “The Use of Dietary Interventions in Pediatric Patients,” which published in the journal Pharmacy.

Edo-Abasi McGee, PharmD, assistant professor, pharmacy, and Kim Barefield, PharmD, associate professor, pharmacy, were named co-chairs of the Communication Committee of the Georgia Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Danielle Melisiotis (DO ’19) was first author on “Nothing to Lye About: Crystal Lye Ingestion in a 14-month-old Female,” which published in the journal Visual Journal of Emergency Medicine.

Caitlin F. Porubsky, DO, resident, dermatology, and Christopher Buckley, DO ’00, clinical assistant professor, internal medicine, co-authored “Hypocellular Medallion-like Dermal Dendrocyte Hamartoma on the Abdomen of a 25-year-old Male,” which published in the Journal of Cutaneous Pathology.

Ahmed Siddiqi, DO, resident, orthopedic surgery; Salvador Forte, DO, resident, orthopedic surgery; and John J. McPhilemy, DO ’78, director, orthopedic surgery residency, co-authored “Bilateral Femoral Neck Fractures in a Middle-Aged Female After a Low-Energy Fall,” in the journal Surgical Technology International.

Dr. Siddiqi also co-authored “2018 John Charnley Award: Analysis of US Hip Replacement Bundled Payments: Physician-initiated Episodes Outperform Hospital-initiated Episodes,” which published in the journal Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research.

Sonia Amin Thomas, PharmD, assistant professor, pharmacy, co-authored “Empiric Vancomycin Dosing Recommendations in Pediatrics,” which published in the Global Journal of Pediatrics & Neonatal Care.

Dianzheng Zhang, PhD, professor, bio-medical sciences, co-authored “Targeted Therapies for Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer,” which published in the journal Oncotarget.

The PCOM Science and Math Summer Academy (formerly the PCOM Opportunities Academy) recently received the 2019 Accolade Award for Diversity from CASE (the Council for Advancement and Support of Education) District II.