Skip to main content

March 2020 

March 31, 2020

The March 2020 edition of Kudos highlights faculty, staff, resident and student publications and accolades at PCOM, PCOM Georgia and PCOM South Georgia.

Yun Bai, PhD, associate professor, pharmaceutical sciences, co-authored “DNLC: Differential Network Local Consistency Analysis,” which published in the journal BMC Bioinformatics.

Laurence Belkoff, DO ’75, chair, urology, was named the 2020 recipient of the American Urological Association Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award.

Qian Chen, PhD, assistant professor, physiology and pharmacology; Robert Barsotti, PhD, professor, neuroscience, physiology and pharmacology; Lindon Young, PhD, professor, microbiology and immunology; Megan Michaels (DO ’23); Matthew Finnegan (DO ’21); Tameka Dean (DO ’20); Lucy Checchio (DO ’21); Faosat Muftau-Lediju (MS/FM ’20); Anahi McIntyre (DO ’22); co-authored “Protein Kinase C Beta II Peptide Inhibitor Elicits Potent Cardioprotective Effects on Attenuating Ischemia/Reperfusion Injury,” which published in the journal Circulation.

Avijit K. Deb (DO ’20) co-authored “Domino Heart Transplant Following Heart-Lung Transplantation: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis,” which published in the journal Annals of Cardiothoracic Surgery.

Matthew DiMeglio (DO/MBA ’20) co-authored “Access to Internet, Smartphone Usage, and Acceptability of Mobile Health Technology Among Cancer Patients,” which published in the journal Supportive Care in Cancer.

Daniel Horuzsko (DO ’23) co-authored “HLA-G and Humanized Mouse Models as a Novel Therapeutic Approach in Transplantation,” which published in the journal Human Immunology.

Joshua Levy (DO ’21) was first author on “Does Smoking Cannabis Increase the Risk of Barrett’s Esophagus,” which published in the journal Cureus.

Jillian Ploof, DO ’13, resident, neurosurgery, co-authored “Decadron, Diamox, and Zantac: A Novel Combination for Ventricular Shunt Failure in Pediatric Neurosurgical Patients,” in the journal Pediatric Emergency Care.

Michael B. Roberts, PsyD, director, institutional research, co-authored “Curricula for Empathy and Compassion Training in Medical Education: A Systematic Review,” which published in the journal PLoS ONE.

Harleen K. Sethi, DO, resident, otorhinolaryngology, and Jason Cohn, DO, resident, otolaryngology, co-authored “Craniofacial and Neck Burns in the Pediatric Population,” which published in the journal Burns: Journal of the International Society for Burn Injuries.

Anthony Viola, DO, resident, orthopedic surgery, co-authored “Risk Factors for Liposomal Bupivacaine Resistance After Total Hip of Knee Arthroplasties: A Retrospective Observational Cohort in 237 Patients,” which published in the journal Patient Safety in Surgery

View previous editions of Kudos.

View more PCOM news stories.